Chad Mirkin Professor


Materials Science and Engineering; Medicine; Biomedical Engineering; Chemical and Biological Engineering; Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology

Research Statement

The focus is on developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1 – 100 nm length scale, and utilizing such structures to develop novel analytical tools that can be applied in the areas of chemical and biological sensing, gene regulation, lithography, catalysis, optics, and energy generation, storage, and conversion. Mirkin has pioneered the use of biomolecules as synthons in materials science and the development of many nanoparticle-based extra- and intracellular biodiagnostic and gene regulation tools.

Selected Publications

  • Shim, W.; Braunschweig, A. B.; Liao, X.; Chai, J.; Lim, J. K.; Zheng, G.; Mirkin, C. A. “Hard-Tip, Soft-Spring Lithography,” Nature, 2011, 469, 516-520.
  • Wiester, M. J.; Ulmann, P. A.; Mirkin, C. A. “Enzyme Mimics Based Upon Supramolecular Coordination Chemistry,” Angew. Chem. Int. Ed., 2011, 50, 114-137.
  • Jones, M. R.; Osberg, K. D.; Macfarlane, R. J.; Langille, M. R. ; Mirkin, C. A. “Templated Techniques for the Synthesis and Assembly of Plasmonic Nanostructures,” Chem. Rev., 2011, 111, 3736-3827.
  • Giam, L. R.; Mirkin, C. A. “Cantilever-free Scanning Probe Molecular Printing,” Angew. Chem. Intl. Ed., 2011, 33, 7482-7485.
  • Spokoyny, A. M.; Machan, C. W.; Clingerman, D. J.; Rosen, M. S.; Wiester, M. J.; Kennedy, R. D.; Stern, C. L.; Sarjeant, A. A.; Mirkin, C. A. “A Coordination Chemistry Dichotomy for Icosahedral Carborane-Based Ligands,” Nature Chem., 2011, 3, 590-596.
  • Osberg, K. D.; Schmucker, A. L.; Senesi, A. J.; Mirkin, C. A. “One-Dimensional Nanorod Arrays: Independent Control of Composition, Length, and Interparticle Spacing with nanometer Precision,”Nano Lett., 2011, 11, 820–824.
  • Langille, M.; Personick, M.; Zhang, J.; Mirkin, C.  “Bottom-up synthesis of Gold Octahedra with Tailorable Hollow Features,” J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2011, 133, 10414-10417.
  • Macfarlane, R.; Lee, B.; Jones, M.; Harris, N.; Schatz, G.; Mirkin, C. A.  “Nanoparticle Superlattice Engineering with DNA,” Science, 2011, 334, 204-208.
  • Cutler, J. I.; Auyeung, E.; Mirkin, C. A. “Spherical Nucleic Acids,” J. Am. Chem. Soc., 2012, 134, 1376–1391.
  • Zheng, D.; Giljohann, D. A.; Chen, D. L.; Massich, M. D.; Wang, X.-Q; Iordanov, H.; Mirkin, C. A.; Paller, A. S. “Topical Delivery of Spherical siRNA Conjugates for Gene Regulation,”  Proc. Natl. Aca. Sci. USA, 2012, doi: 10.1073/pnas.1118425109.

Selected Honors/Awards

  • 2012 International Material Science Award, International Centre for Materials Science, Bangalore, India
  • 2012 Honorary Professor, Hunan University, China
  • 2012 Honorary Degree, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • 2012 ACS Award for Creative Invention
  • 2011 Van’t Hoff Prize
  • 2011 Elected Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • 2010 Elected Member of the Institute of Medicine 
  • 2010 Elected Member of the National Academy of Sciences
  • 2010 Elected Member of the National Academy of Sciences
  • 2009 $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize
  • 2009 Member, President’s Council of Science & Technology (PCAST, Obama Administration)
  • 2009 Elected Member of the National Academy of Engineering