Latest News

18 March 2015

Geiger Research Group Opens Door to Better Fuel Cells

Professor Franz Geiger and a group of researchers at Northwestern have discovered a membrane that could lead to faster charging batteries. “Imagine an electric car that charges in the same time it takes to fill a car with gas,” says Professor Geiger. The study was published in a recent article by the journal Nature Communications. See News Center Story

13 March 2015

Farha to Present 2015 UCLA M. Frederick Hawthorne Lecture

Research Professor Omar Farha will present the 2015 M. Frederick Hawthorne Lecture at UCLA on April 1st, 2015. The title of the Lecture is "Bioinspired Sponges: Functional Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs)."

26 February 2015

Stoddart Group Alum Receives 2015 Award for Excellence in Graduate Research

Dr. Jonathan Barnes (2010-2014), currently a postdoctoral fellow at MIT, has won the Department's 2015 Award for Excellence in Graduate Research. This award, which recognizes outstanding achievements in research, comes with a monetary prize and an honorary plaque that will be presented to him in the Fall.

23 February 2015

Professors Freedman and Shiozaki Each Receive Prestigious 2015 Sloan Research Fellowships

Chemistry Professors, Danna Freedman and Toru Shiozaki, each has received a prestigious Sloan Research Fellowship for 2015 from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation. The $50,000 fellowships are awarded in eight scientific and technical fields: chemistry, computer science, economics, mathematics, computational and evolutionary molecular biology, neuroscience, ocean sciences and physics. Freedman and Shiozaki are among 126 outstanding early-career scientists and scholars being recognized for their achievements and potential to contribute substantially to their fields. See Full List Here.

19 February 2015

NU Postdoctoral Fellow John Anderson to Join Chemistry Department at University of Chicago

Dr. John Anderson will begin his independent career as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry at the University of Chicago on July 1, 2015. There, he will continue his research on developing novel transition metal systems with broad relevance in areas such as catalysis, biology, and materials science.

13 February 2015

Nicholas Jackson Wins the Prestigious 2015 Northwestern Presidential Fellowship

Nicholas Jackson, a joint student in the Ratner and Chen research group, has been awarded the 2015 Presidential Fellowship. The Presidential Fellowship is the university's most prestigious award and is given to students for their outstanding intellectual and creative ability. Jackson becomes the tenth Chemistry Department graduate student to win the award in the past thirteen years.

9 February 2015

Wasielewski Named Honda-Fujishima Award Winner by JPA

Professor Michael Wasielewski has received the 2015 Honda-Fujishima Award of the Japanese Photochemistry Association (JPA) for his work in photochemical systems for solar energy conversion.

5 February 2015

Team Led by Kanatzidis and Wasielewski Discover New Method for a More Environmentally Friendly Fertilizer

A team of researchers led by Professors Mercouri Kanatzidis and Michael Wasielewski developed a catalyst that can take nitrogen and turn it into ammonia under natural conditions. This new method offers promise for a more environmentally friendly fertilizer. See News Center Story

29 January 2015

Scheidt Group Featured in Recent C&EN Article

A research team led by Professor Karl Scheidt and Christopher Check are featured in a recent article in Chemical & Engineering News (C&EN). The article focuses on the creation of a versatile new class of Imidazolium-based N-heterocyclic carbenes (NHCs). 

9 January 2015

Thomson Group Featured in the Journal of the American Chemical Society

As shown in an article published by the Journal of the American Chemical Society (JACS), scientists in the Thomson group have successfully completed the concise, enantioselective total synthesis of maoecrystal V – an extremely challenging molecule that possesses potent cytotoxic activity. According to the JACS website, this article has been one of the top 5 most-read articles over the past month.

8 January 2015

Farha to Give Keynote Lecture at Chicago ACS Meeting

Professor Omar Farha will give the keynote lecture titled "Bioinspired Sponges: Functional Metal-Organic Frameworks (MOFs)" Friday, January 23rd at the upcoming Chicago Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS) meeting. Poster session will begin at 5:00 p.m.