Skip to main content

Karl A. Scheidt


B.S.: University of Notre Dame 1994; Ph.D.: Indiana University 1999

Research Statement

Our collaborative and interdisciplinary program is at the forefront of the discovery of new catalytic reactions and their application in medicine and energy. Specifically, we have pioneered the use of small organic molecules as catalysts in a multitude of high value chemical transformations. These processes provide new avenues for molecular construction and offer sustainable advantages to established transition metal catalyzed approaches. In the realm of therapeutic translational science, we are creating new routes to natural products and related analogs with promising activities against cancer and central nervous system disorders.

Selected Publications

  • Murauski, K. J. R.; Walden, D. M.; Cheong, P. H-Y.; Scheidt, K. A. “A Cooperative Ternary Catalysis System for Asymmetric Lactonizations of α-Ketoesters,” Adv. Synth. Catal. 2017, 359, 3713-3719.
  • Hovey, M. T.; Cohen, D. T.; Walden, D. M.; Cheong, P. H-Y.; Scheidt, K. A. “A Carbene Catalysis Strategy for the Synthesis of Protoilludane Natural Products,” Angew. Chem. Int. Ed. 2017, 56, 9864-9867.
  • Walden, D. M.; Johnston, R. C. Jaworski, A. A.; Hovey, M. T.; Meyer, M. P.; Scheidt, K. A. and Cheong, P. H. “Formation of Aza-ortho-quinone Methides Under Room Temperature Conditions: Cs2CO3 Effect,” J. Org. Chem. 2017, 82, 7183-7189.
  • Wang, M.; Barsoum, D.; Schwamb, C. B.; Cohen, D. T.; Goess, B. C.; Riedrich, M.; Chan, A.; Maki, B. E.; Mishra, R. K.; Scheidt, K. A. “Catalytic, Enantioselective β-Protonation through a Cooperative Activation Strategy,” J. Org. Chem. 2017, 82, 4689-4702.
  • Beniah, G.; Chen, X.; Uno, B. E.; Liu, K.; Leitsch, E. K.; Jeon, J.; Heath, W. H.; Scheidt, K. A.; Torkelson, J. M.* “Combined Effects of Carbonate and Soft-Segment Molecular Structures on the Nanophase Separation and Properties of Segmented Polyhydroxyurethane,” Macromolecules 201750, 3193-3203.
  • Deibler, K. K.; Mishra, R.K.; Clutter, M. R.; Antanasijevic, A. Bergan, R.; Caffrey, M.; Scheidt, K. A. “A Chemical Probe Strategy for Interrogating Inhibitor Selectivity Across the MEK Kinase Family,” ACS Chem. Biol. 2017, 12, 1245-1256.
  • Betori, R. C.; Miller, E. R.; Scheidt, K. A., “A Biocatalytic Route to Highly Enantioenriched β-Hydroxydioxinones,” Adv. Synth. Cat2017, 359, 1131-1137.
  • Beniah, G.; Uno, B. E.; Lan, T.; Jeon, J.; Heath, W. H.; Scheidt, K. A.; Torkelson, J. M. “Tuning Nanophase Separation Behavior in Segmented Polyhydroxyurethane via Judicious Choice of Soft Segment,” Polymer 2017, 110, 218-227.
  • Beniah, G. Liu, K.; Heath, W. H.; Miller, M. D.; Scheidt, K. A.; Torkelson, J. M. “Novel Thermoplastic Polyhydroxyurethane Elastomers as Effective Damping Materials over Broad Temperature Ranges,” Eur. Polymer J.  2016, 84, 770-783.
  • Leitsch, E.; Beniah, G. Liu, K.; Lan, T.; Heath, W.; Scheidt, K. A.; Torkelson, J. “Non-Isocyanate Thermoplastic Polyhydroxyurethane Elastomers via Cyclic Carbonate Aminolysis: Critical Role of Hydroxyl Groups in Controlling Nanophase Separation,” ACS Macro Letters 20165, 424-429.

Selected Honors/Awards

  • 2017 - Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher
  • 2016 - Fellow, Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
  • 2016 - Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher
  • 2015 - Thomson Reuters Highly Cited Researcher
  • 2015 - Northwestern University Graduate School Faculty Award for Diversity
  • 2010-2014 - Dow Chemical Company Research Professor in Chemistry
  • 2012 - Japanese Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) Invitation Fellowship
  • 2012 - Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  • 2011 - Jeremiah P. Freeman Lecturer, University of Notre Dame
  • 2009-2012 - Alumnae of Northwestern University Teaching Professor
  • 2009 - Organic Syntheses Distinguished Lecturer, University of Toronto
  • 2008-2010 - Irving M. Klotz Professor of Chemistry 
  • 2008-2009 - GlaxoSmithKline Scholar Award
  • 2007-2009 - Alfred P. Sloan Fellow
  • 2007 - AstraZeneca Excellence in Chemistry Award
  • 2007 - Novartis Chemistry Lecture Award
Back to top